Linux Explorers

Exploring the wonderful world of Linux

This guide explains how to configure a basic Apache web server on Red Hat Enterprise Linux 7.  This is also on of the objectives on the RHCSA 7 exam and a fundamental skill required for the RHCE 7 exam.

1 ) The first thing that you will need to do is install the httpd service if it is not already installed.  Below are a few options for accomplishing this.

Also this guide assumes all commands are entered as the “root” user.

 yum -y groupinstall “Basic Web Server”


yum -y install httpd httpd-manual

 Note: The package httpd-manual has the apache documentation which may be helpful with configuration.



2) Enable the httpd service with the following command.   This will cause the service  to start when the system is booted.

systemctl enable httpd.service

3) Open the firewall to allow access to the web server.

firewall-cmd --add-service=http --permanent --zone=public

Note:  the –add-service statement is “http” and NOT “httpd”



4) Reload the configuration changes to the firewall

systemctl reload firewalld.service



5) Start the httpd service

systemctl start httpd.service



6) You can test the functionality by opening a browser for a computer on the same network and entering the IP in the address field.  You will see the apache test page if successful.

The default directory for the Apache server is “/var/www/html/”


July 19th, 2014

CentOS 7 Released July 7, 2014

No Comments, RHEL 7, by programr101.

Incase you are not aware CentOS 7 was released on July 7th 2014.  CentOS is a rebuild distribution of Red Hat Enterprise Linux 7 and is functionally identical to RHEL7.  The only difference is that all of the Red Hat branding has been removed, and CentOS is not supported as is the case with Red Hat.  CentOS is free alternative  and a great choice of operating system for your personal server or for testing.  I specifically use it to help study and prepare for the RHCSA and RHCE exams as stated before it behaves identical to RHEL.

With the release of Red Hat Enterprise Linux 7, the RHCSA and RHCE certification exams have been changed and updated for the new version of the operating system.  There are some new testing elements that are included in the new exam.

The new exam objectives are available on Red Hat’s web site and one of the first things I’ve noticed is that the exam is now 4 hours whereas the RHCE 6 exam was 2 hours long.

Some of the new items I noticed are:

System configuration and management

  • Use network teaming or bonding to configure aggregated network links between two Red Hat Enterprise Linux systems.

  • Configure IPv6 addresses and perform basic IPv6 troubleshooting.

  • Use FirewallD, including Rich Rules, Zones and custom rules, to implement packet filtering and configure network address translation (NAT).

Network Services

  • Configure SELinux to support the service.

  • Use SELinux port labelling to allow services to use non-standard ports.

  • Configure the service to start when the system is booted.

  • Configure the service for basic operation.

  • Configure host-based and user-based security for the service.


  • Configure TLS security

Database Services

  • Install and configure MariaDB.

  • Backup and restore a database.

  • Create a simple database schema.

  • Perform simple SQL queries against a database.

I like many of you are in need of passing this exam to keep my RHCE certification and plan on creating a comprehensive guide to cover these new topics and there others necessary to pass.  As always I would love to hear from you regarding any of these new topics and you you use them.  I will work to make regular updates until I have covered all of the RHCE 7 topics.

Also the RHCE v6 exams are still available so dont get discouraged if you’ve been studying or the v6 exam.